Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
latest news
News Article

About Ministry

Office of the Permanent Secretary – Administration:

• Department of Human Resources Management and Administration;
• Department of Policy and Planning;
• Department of Monitoring and Evaluation;
• Department of Training and Development;
• Department of Physical Planning and Medical Technologies;
• Legal Unit;
• Health Care Financing Unit;
• Accounts Unit;
• Internal Audit Unit;
• Information and Communications Technology (ICT); and
• Procurement and Supplies Unit.

Office of the Permanent Secretary – Technical Services.

• Department of Clinical Care & Diagnostic Services;
• Department of Public Health;
• Department of Health Promotion, Environment and Social Determinants;
• Department of Nursing Services;
• National Malaria Elimination Centre;
• Department of Global Health;
• Department of Nuclear Medicine and Research; and
• Provincial Health Offices.

The Ministry is also responsible for the following institutions:
• Chest Diseases Laboratory
• Food and Drugs Board
• General Nursing Council of Zambia
• Health Professions Council of Zambia
• Health Research Authority
• Malaria Control Centre
• Medical Stores Limited
• Mwachisompola Health Demonstration Zone Institute
• National Food and Nutrition Commission
• National HIV/AIDS/STI/TB Council
• National Public Health Institute
• Radiation Protection Authority
• Regional Centre for Disease Control
• Tropical Disease Research Centre
• Occupational Health and Safety Institute
• Zambia Flying Doctor Service
• Zambia Medicines Regulatory Authority
• Zambia National Blood Transfusion Services
• Zambia Red Cross Society

According to gazette notice No. 836 of 2016, the Ministry of Health is responsible for the following portfolio functions:
• Curative services
• Drugs
• Food and Nutrition Policy
• Health Care
• Health Information System
• Health personnel training
• Health Policy
• Health Services
• Laboratory and research services
• Mental Health policy